Stay up to date with our latest success stories, speaking tips or events by signing up to this blog.

I’ve discovered a lot through my 30 years of working with Celebrities& Executives- both on camera and on stage- as well as through owning and operating a Teleprompter Rental House (Peachtree Prompters, since 1989!) and I would like to share my stories because I have found that you just can’t find this knowledge elsewhere. So read on and contact me if you have any questions or would like to request Coaching with Teleprompters.

DID you know that 90% of presenters who are first asked to speak with Teleprompters have NEVER used a Teleprompter before? Yet, 70% of those speakers believe they already know how to use Teleprompters!

You’ve seen this…  an executive reading the latest meticulously crafted corporate mantra straight from the communications team laptop. (Many times appearing to read it for the first time.)

Watching these addresses have always concerned me because speakers feel as though they should easily be able to use a Teleprompter- just  because they can READ! But reading a Teleprompter is NOT using a Teleprompter for it’s intended purpose and ultimately results in a line up of leaders at a podium or on camera, each sounding more robotic than the next.

During my 30 years of working with executives in rehearsals, I observed that any input from the Teleprompter Operator, Speech Writer (or anyone at all), quickly became overwhelming, causing more anxiety… or suggestions were dismissed all together because the speaker did not want to appear foolish… or the speaker felt that presenting is not REALLY their job and speech coaching was then viewed as a “waste of time” when, in reality, giving a presentation really IS a number one key toward social and business impact!

It never occurred to ANYONE to have any type of public speaking coaching specifically focused on speaking authentically with Teleprompters! 

Thus, Teleprompters got a bad rap. After 30 years of quietly sitting by and watching “what worked” and “what didn’t work,” I wanted to do more and began offering private coaching lessons with Teleprompters.

Discussing techniques and obstacles in a relaxed atmosphere, without being expected to know what you could not possibly know… takes the pressure off and helps your body and voice relax so that you can deliver a natural and impactful presentation. This also gives presenters an opportunity to start small, practice, ask questions and build confidence.

Great public speaking skills really translates into people thinking of you as capable and more promising in your career.

I’ve coached all types of speakers; celebrities, executives, lawyers and more, and now I am sharing what I have learned and observed throughout my tenure.

I earned my credentials in many ways, but mostly from working on-set….Each time I worked with a new presenter, I took down notes, thoughts and topics that could help a wide array of people. I then began to deliberately add exercises that would help speakers with these corresponding observations. I now have quite a library of tips, tricks and notes that I incorporated into one great manual. I am working on publishing my “Teleprompter curriculum” and look forward to sharing it with you in the future!

Here, I want to dispel the myths of presenting with Teleprompters and share success stories that help speakers communicate and resolve common questions for presenting with technology. My experience isn’t just limited to navigating a Teleprompter though… I have also observed body language skills, image projection and color analysis for presentions. I am excited to share this knowledge.

I hope you enjoy my articles and I hope that I can make a difference to those who might be struggling with presentations.

For more information on enhancing your communication style, contact Lauri at:
LP@gmail.com, 404-402-4027 and visit LauriPlesco.com

Leave a comment